ﻣﻮﻗﻊ ﺻﺪﻱ اﻟﺒﻠﺪ

Supervisor
Elham AbolFateh

Books

Billion Dollar Whale: The Man Who Fooled Wall Street، Hollywood، and the World

Thursday 04/October/2018 - 10:28 AM
Book cover
Book cover
Edited by: Yara Sameh
The definitive inside account of the "extraordinary" (Financial Times) 1MDB scandal، "a true life thriller" (Ben Mezrich) about a "modern Gatsby" who managed to swindle over $5 billion with the aid of Goldman Sachs and others--a "must read" (Booklist) "epic tale" (Publishers Weekly) that exposes the secret nexus of elite wealth، banking، Hollywood، and politics from two award-winning Wall Street Journal reporters.

In 2009، with the dust yet to settle on the financial crisis، a baby-faced، seemingly mild-mannered Wharton grad began setting in motion a fraud of unprecedented gall and magnitude--one that would come to symbolize the next great threat to the global financial system. His name is Jho Low، a man whose behavior was so preposterous he might seem made up.

An epic true-tale of hubris and greed، Billion Dollar Whale reveals how this young social climber pulled off one of the biggest heists in history--right under the nose of the global financial industry. Federal agents who helped unravel Bernie Madoff's Ponzi scheme say the 1MDB affair will become the textbook case of financial fraud in the modern age--and its fallout is already being credited for taking down the prime minister of Malaysia. With his yacht and private jet reportedly seized by authorities and facing money-laundering charges in Malaysia، an Interpol red notice، and an ongoing U.S. Department of Justice Investigation، Low has become an international fugitive.

For readers of Liar's Poker، Den of Thieves، and Bad Blood، Billion Dollar Whale will become a classic، harrowing parable about finance run amok.


About the Author
Tom Wright was one of the first journalists to arrive at the scene of the raid in which Navy SEALs killed Osama bin Laden. In 2013، he spearheaded coverage of the collapse of the Rana Plaza factory in Bangladesh، which killed over 1،000 people، earning the Wall Street Journal a Sigma Delta Chi award from The Society of Professional Journalists. He is a Pulitzer finalist، a Loeb winner، and has garnered numerous awards from the Society of Publishers in Asia، which in 2016 named him "Journalist of the Year." He speaks English، Malay، French and Italian.

Bradley Hope has worked for the Wall Street Journal for the last four years، covering finance and malfeasance from New York City and London. Before that، he spent six years as a correspondent in the Middle East.

Hardcover: 336 pages
Author: Tom Wright، and Bradley Hope
Publisher: Wright، Tom (September 18، 2018)
Language: English
Dimensions: 6.5 x 1.2 x 9.5 inches

Editorial Reviews
"What a blast to read! A true life thriller that reads like a Hollywood movie، Billion Dollar Whale traces the exploits of the most mercurial، mysterious big player in history. Jho Low is Gatsby with twice the bank account and ten times the ambition، and the stories surrounding his exploits leap right off the page!"―Ben Mezrich، New York Times bestselling author of The Accidental Billionaires and Bringing Down The House

"Wright and Hope deliver a scintillating and prodigiously reported tale of a globe-spanning modern Gatsby and his audacious fraud."―Jesse Eisinger، Pulitzer Prize-winning reporter for ProPublica and author of The Chickenshit Club

"Billion Dollar Whale does more than dissect a financial fraud of epic proportions; it takes the reader on a fascinating journey inside the heart of a con that was years in the making. Wright and Hope show how perception becomes reality in the hands of a consummate financial illusionist. Billion Dollar Whale proves once again that truth is stranger than fiction."―Gregory A. Coleman، retired FBI Special Agent; Case Agent، "Wolf of Wall Street" Investigation

"Even the most skilled fiction writer would have trouble conjuring the corrupt and colorful protagonist of Billion Dollar Whale. Bradley Hope and Tom Wright's gripping portrait of Jho Low and his enablers throughout the global financial system will both fascinate and enrage you."―Sheelah Kolhatkar، staff writer at The New Yorker and New York Times bestselling author of Black Edge

"The story of a massive international financial scandal... As the authors amply prove، the scandal reaches far beyond Low. To succeed، he relied on the naivete، greed، and generally immoral conduct of huge banks as well as corrupt governments."―Kirkus

"An amazing tale of greed.... juicy and entertaining."―Library Journal (starred review)


"Wright and Hope transform their investigation of a mind-boggling financial fraud into a nonfiction thriller... This is an epic tale of white-collar crime on a global scale."―Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"Well-researched and well-documented.... Reveals how Low used a bag of tricks، including financial fraud، to make himself seem more powerful، more influential، and more successful than he actually was... This is a must-read."―Booklist

"An extraordinary tale.... richly woven...[with] dogged reporting.... Like all good business stories، Billion Dollar Whale is bigger than the immediate one it tells. It is a story of emerging markets crippled by corruption and cronyism and comes from the era of egregious--and mostly punishment-free--banking.... One thing is clear. If ever Hollywood gets round to telling the story on screen، here is perfect material for the script."―Financial Times

"Gripping.... The heist of the century."―Axios

Comments

ads

Poll

What do you think about our new design?

What do you think about our new design?
ads